Why Denise DT’s Lucky Bitch is a Must Read for Women Entrepreneurs

Dawn Nelson
5 min readJul 30, 2023

--

And maybe some men too

Photo by Microsoft Edge on Unsplash

I’ve read a lot of educational and self-help books in my time. From books on finance and thrift, to business and writing, I’ve read them all.

And I’ve learned a lot from them.

But — and I’m not trying to bash anyone here or make a political statement — most of them were written by men, from a male point of view.

So, it was nice to read a self-help book written by a woman in her own inimitable voice.

Denis Duffield-Thomas’ Lucky Bitch (2018) is the latest tome I’ve read on manifestation. Don’t groan. I know there are naysayers out there who think the whole thing is bunkum.

But you know what? I get a lot out of manifestation … and I don’t just mean money.

Bear with me here.

So, I first purchased this book for my Audible subscription because another author friend of mine happened to mention it on a Zoom call recently. I thought to myself: that sounds interesting. So, I bought it and I listened to it and I loved it.

Why?

Well, firstly, I loved Denise’s voice. She’s an Australian and has an upbeat, warm voice that just makes you feel happy. She’s very down-to-earth and explains things beautifully in her own way. Maybe it’s because I’m Scottish and practical myself, but I hate narrators who exaggerate and over-dramatise the text. That’s fine if you enjoy that kind of thing, but I just want the facts.

“It’s a terrible thing in life to wait until you’re ready.” — Denise Duffield-Thomas

I liked listening to her and I liked what she said. She says that manifesting is not just about asking the Universe for something and expecting it to land in your lap. You’ve got to work at it and she gave several examples of how she has manifested wealth and other things in her life.

What she says just makes so much sense.

If you’ve ever read any other books on manifesting, they often tell you how manifesting can help, but leave out how you actually do it. With Denise, it’s all about getting rid of your mind blocks to whatever it is you are manifesting. Then you need set down your goals and work towards them. You have to be specific about what you want and work on manifesting it on a daily basis.

Some people might respond to this by saying that how she manifests is just about setting a goal and going for it. However, it’s there’s much more to it than that. It’s about believing in oneself (something many women find difficult to do), it’s about having the guts to go for it, it’s about recognising when good things happen and being grateful for all that you have.

“My time is now. I am ready for the next step.” — Denise Duffield-Thomas

I find this book really inspiring. If nothing else, it’s put a bomb up my backside and made me re-evaluate what I’m doing with my writing business.

So, what is it I want to manifest for myself?

1. I want my writing business to be highly successful, bringing in thousands of pounds a month, giving me the opportunity to hire in help for the house, garden and my social media so that it will …

2. … free up more time to allow me to concentrate on my novel writing business and make that highly successful and profitable too.

Of course, I’ve been much more specific than this about what exactly I want to achieve over the next couple of months. I’ve written down goals and I’m working on manifesting them.

“You have to decide NOW that you are enough. You are smart enough, pretty enough, clever enough, ready enough. You can be richer starting today, if you’re brave enough to define exactly what you want.” — Denise Duffield-Thomas

What actions have I taken to realise my goals, apart from just asking the Universe?

1. I had come away from Medium for a while, but I was still getting new people following me, so I thought I had better get back into uploading good stories. But what would I write about? Of course, it was obvious. As a writer, I could share information about writing and the writing business. So, that’s what I’m doing and I’m hoping the things I write about are useful to other writers and wannabe writers.

2. I’ve gone back to my writing roots and started freelancing again. I’m writing for a local magazine in the west coast of Scotland and I have been submitting articles to national newspapers. I got a page three lead in a broadsheet recently for a story about illicit whisky stills.

3. I’m constantly seeking out new opportunities for writing. This includes journalism and short story writing.

4. I am looking after myself better. I am meditating twice a day (this really helps with stress and anxiety,and it make me feel happier and more grateful for what I have in life) and going to the pool/gym regularly. I’m eating better too. I just need to give up the wine (ahem) and that will be that. But I enjoy a wee glass of wine, so maybe I’ll just have it once a week… as a well-earned treat.

5. And I’m continuing to write fiction. I have a new book coming out this week. Once that’s done, I’ll be scheduling in the writing of a five book fantasy series over the coming year.

6. Talking of scheduling … I did this anyway, but I schedule my working week to ensure that I cover all the things I want and need to do. That includes writing my novels, writing articles and domestic boring stuff like housework. I find scheduling really, really helps me get things done. No schedule = no writing. No schedule = watching tv and vegging out all day when I could be writing my next best seller!

Denise has given me the confidence to go for it. She’s made me realise that it was my own mind blocks (you know the usual stuff: not good enough, don’t deserve it, I can’t do it, etc) that were holding me back.

And if my manifestation comes to nothing? Well, I’m determined that’s not going to happen, but if it does, at least I can say I gave it a try.

Here’s one final quote from Denise:

“Here’s the thing: nobody is going to give you permission to be successful, so stop waiting for external validation.” — Denise Duffield-Thomas

Want to know more about me and my books? See my website.

--

--